Osaka and Pedro – Bracket Semifinals

Bracket Kagami and Lina Semifinal Polls will close in 24 hours.

Bracket Osaka


Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann – Libera me from hell

Track 2: RahXephon – Hemisphere



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Fate/Zero – to the beginning

Track 2: Genesis of Aquarion – Sousei no Aquarion


Bracket Pedro


Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex 2nd GIG – Rise

Track 2: Tatami Galaxy – Kami-sama no Iu Toori



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Aku no Hana – 〜花〜 A Last Flower

Track 2: Little Busters! – Little Busters!


25 thoughts on “Osaka and Pedro – Bracket Semifinals

  1. Very curious if anyone genuinely finds 〜花〜 A Last Flower a worthy or decent song, or if they’re just piling on the troll train. I cannot understand it getting so far. Please educate me.

  2. I think that the original version of the song is absolutely worthy of getting this far.

    As for the version in the tourney, it’s from a recent popular/infamous show, hasn’t had the strongest competition throughout the tournament, and is, in my opinion, a decent example of post-rock (As omo pointed out in an earlier comment). That’s probably more than enough to justify it making it this far.

    • Thanks for posting the link to the original, I hadn’t heard it before. It’s a very good song, reminds me a bit of bands like Silver Mt. Zion.

    • whether the original is good or not, its not what people are hearing in the tournament poll. theyre hearing a butchered version that became a meme and i doubt that most people knew about the original version prior to voting. seems to me like people are perpetuating something ridiculous for the sake of “trolling,” and as someone said in kagami/lina, voting for what is current/popular. ☆*・゜゚・*\(*’v’*)/*・゜゚・*☆

      • actually, i hadnt even listened to the original before typing this reply (my mistake) but they sound essentially the same to me ha ha can someone explain to me how this is post rock Thanks

        • Asa Chang & Junray is technically an experimental band I guess. But this is closest to post rock, and has many of that genre’s trademarks.

      • I mean yeah i agree most of those are shitty reasons to vote for something, I just think they’re the explanation for why the song is getting so far. Also, I feel like I missed that song becoming a meme and whatever “trolling” people are talking about. ƪ(‾ε‾“)ʃ

  3. Post rock is one of those rock genres that should appeal to a lot of anison nerds, because a lot of the genre’s most famous samples involve large, overflowing mood swings that’s more commonly found in symphonic music. You just have to deal with the reverb…

    Also, Japan just happens to be one of the more active scenes for the genre. So you do run into it now and then. It’s still pretty obscure as far as mainstream genres go, but so is rotoscoped anime I guess…

  4. Wow, all the songs I voted for are losing right now. At least most of them are close.
    I can’t get behind A Last Flower either. I respect that it’s trying something new and different and that’s fine, but that doesn’t mean I enjoy listening to it. I much prefer something with a good rhythm and especially a strong melody. I don’t know if people are voting for it just to troll, but there might certainly be some novelty value involved.

      • Well technically Aquarion is called Aquarion (Genesis of/Sousei) which is the title of the show. I say Fate/Zero because I am lazy and “to the beginning” is a confusing name for a song and since it is technically Fate/Zero s2…anyway…I don’t judge based on show. I’ve never even seen Genesis of Aquarion or Berserk (Forces is my #1 bracket pick) or Turn a Gundam (Tsuki no Mayu is a beast) or more than 4 episodes of Aria the Animation (I helped get Kin no Nami Sen no Nami the Aria the Origination ED into the competition) or Fruits Basket (a second song I helped get into the competition). 6 of my 10 noms are from shows I’ve either never seen or only seen small amounts of. I evaluate based on the music alone. And I tell you now that Genesis of Aquarion is the better song. Genesis of Aquarion gets stuck in my head for days, Kalafina cannot say the same. (though FictionJunction YUUKA can)

        • Maybe it’s because I heard the Acapella version first, but the regular version seems so bland in comparison and doesn’t stick with me at all -_-

        • I heard them both about the same time and while I find the a capella version impressive, it’s not as catchy to me as the instrumental. I don’t like a capella songs of this type as much as I should as a singer. Vocal percussion and instrumentation just doesn’t do it for me, beyond noting the skill required. The exception would be Da Vinci’s notebook but that’s mostly for lyrical content.

  5. Pingback: Bracket Finals Matchups: Ichijo Thru Lina | The Anime Music Tournament

Leave a Reply

