Bracket Lina – Round 1 – Polls 1-4

Note: Bracket J Polls 5-8 close in exactly 24 hours.


Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Shingeki no Kyojin – Guren no Yumiya

Track 2: Hatenkou Yuugi – Heartbreaking Romance



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Hyouka – Yasashisa no Riyuu

Track 2: Zoku Natsume Yuujinchou – Aishiteru



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Fullmetal Alchemist – Brothers

Track 2: Star Driver – Monochrome ~ version de l’apprivoiser



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Guilty Crown – My Dearest

Track 2: Ouran High School Host Club – Sakura Kiss


12 thoughts on “Bracket Lina – Round 1 – Polls 1-4

  1. Best thing about this tournament has been listening to great music that one otherwise might not have heard due to lack of interest in the source. Brothers from FMA and Monochrome from Star Driver are 2 songs that fit that very well for me. Great tunes both of them. I hope Brothers comes through. Even though I don’t understand a word of Russian, there’s such a sweet sadness in that melody and the singing, that makes it memorable.

    • I understand Russian and was completely overwhelmed when it started playing in my japanese cartoons. The first time I heard it I was moved to tears because it fits the relationship of the protagonists so well. It’s a shame it has to go against Monochrome, because that song is pretty neat itself.

  2. Aishiteiru is simple and mainly lets the vocalist shine. We’ve been talking a little bit about great vocalists but I think in terms of pure emotion Callin’ is hard to beat. Also can I just state a little more how much I love the Natsume Yuujin-cho themes and am sad more of them didn’t make it in.

  3. Guren no Yumiya has the same problem as god only knows. The tv version is better as the extraneous sections don’t add to the song and instead detract from it. Heartbreaking Romance is mixed. The single key electronic organ is distracting. Vocalist is ok for most parts. Melody is average.. Going with Guren for this simply because the good parts are at least very good

    Yasashisa no Riyuu’s vocalist comes out well right at the start. Her and Aishiteru’s vocalist are both fine, Melody wise Aishiteru has the upper hand though so voting for that one.

    Brothers’ melody sounds gentle. Monochrome ‘s vocaloid sound effect doesn’t sound good though the melody is strong. A waste of potential. Found one without the effect on youtube though.. Going with Brothers as this version is a let down

    My Dearest is quite ok though not a fan of the vocalist’s method of starting off the song and in some places where she simply lets her voice go. Euterpe is sounds better IMO but My Dearest unlike Bios deserves its spot in the tournament. Sakura Kiss is nothing special though some parts sound nice. Going with My Dearest

  4. Interesting mix, and man, so many batches when my back was turned.

    Went with Guren no Yumiya as it’s that bombastic. I’m not that big a fan of it, but the competition isn’t at its level at the moment.

    Aishiteru is a beautiful, beautiful song. Subtle, light strings, and Calling’s vocals are allowed to tug at the emotional heartstrings. Hyouka’s music was very sub-par for me am afraid.

    FMA Brothers is one of anime’s definitive songs, and heartbreaking to boot. I consider this one of Oshima’s best pieces and it shows through the boy’s choir and those bittersweet strings. Star Driver does well on its own, but against Brothers… man.

    As much as I love the nostalgic aspect of Sakura Kiss (it’s been so long since I last heard it), My Dearest has much more going for it. Going with that.

  5. Pingback: Bracket Maria – Round 1 – Polls 5-8 | The Anime Music Tournament

  6. Pingback: The Anime Music Tournament 2013 Bracket Lina – Round 1 – Polls 1-8 “Analysis” | Drastic My Anime Blog

Leave a Reply

