Bracket Kagami – Round 1 – Polls 1-4

Note: Bracket I Polls 5-8 close in exactly 24 hours.


Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Bokurano – Uninstall

Track 2: Himiko Den – Pure Snow



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Aria the OVA ~Arietta~ – Nana Iro no Sora o

Track 2: Psycho-Pass – All Alone With You



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: The World God Only Knows – God only knows

Track 2: Genesis of Aquarion – Pride ~ Nageki no Tabi



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: End of Evangelion – Komm süsser Tod

Track 2: Bubblegum Crisis – Konya wa Hurricane


13 thoughts on “Bracket Kagami – Round 1 – Polls 1-4

  1. Most of these polls were kinda gimmes, except for the last one. I absolutely love the way that Komm süsser Tod throws prosody in songwriting out the window and am kinda willing to admit that it’s a better song in general; I just can’t bring myself to vote against Konya wa Hurricane. Mad Machine, another song from the Bubblegum Crisis soundtrack, was pretty high on my entries for the tournament, so Hurricane is basically carrying the torch for it. In fact, I’d say it’s carrying the torch for that show’s whole soundtrack, which is goddamn fantastic. I’ve never seen the entire show, I don’t have some die-hard nostalgia for that era of anime, I don’t even have the Streets of Fire love that would really justify my adoration of the show’s music. There’s just something about it that has always clicked with me. Either way, Hurricane is pretty much guaranteed to lose against such an iconic piece of music, so I figured I had to show it some love, both with a vote and this long-ass rambling comment.

    • Oh so you were the other person who was nominating the Bubblegum Crisis songs. I think between us we managed to get Konnya wa Hurricane through to the voting stages 🙂

      Bracket K Polls 1 – 4 is probably my favourite set of matches so far in the tournament. There isn’t a song I don’t like here, and deciding which one to vote for was very hard.

  2. Uninstall was the song that grabbed my attention when i saw Bokurano. That opening wailing chorus can lead to either immediate turn off someone or create interest in the rest of the song. The rest of the song is not as divisive though the high pitch throughout the main vocal sections may irritate some. Overall an interesting song with a memorable start but the main portion of the song is not incredible.

    Pure snow on the other hand is another old song that has aged well, just a year younger than Blue. Only 2 places in the song create a sense of age for the piece. Pure snow is an example of a song that is not incredibly ground breaking but gets nearly everything right and has a distinctive melody, which places it above Uninstall.

    Nana Iro no Sora o’s style of being half asleep or half alive for much of the song is interesting though the effect is like a lullabye. All Alone With You is average tune wise but the most memorable portion is the vocalist. Vocalist wins it for all alone with you

    God only knows sounds draggy compared to the tv version. The tv version is actually better, having the distilled goodness and none of the boring parts. Nageki no Tabi is ok but wins simply because the opponent is bleh

    Komm süsser Tod is repetitive and way too long. Konya wa Hurricane is meh. This is though because i want to vote both out but Komm süsser Tod irritates me more

  3. For me, the best Komm süsser Tod is the one attributed to J. S. Bach. Konya wa Hurricane is surprisingly well composed piece of music. More people should hear it. I hope the Hurricane wins.

  4. It’s too bad Himiko Den has to go up against Uninstall, it’s a pretty good song. Besides Uninstall I have no real preferences about the rest of the fare offered here.

  5. I’m really surprised Konya wa Hurricane is leading. If this tournament has taught me anything, it’s that the voters hate 80s music…until now, at least. I’d say it’s almost certain Komm, susser Todd will pull ahead (and for good reason–I voted for it), but for now, I’m glad to see an 80s pop-styled piece finally get some love.

  6. Uninstall is an amazing song and one of my favorite anime OPs (though I’ve never seen Bokurano and have no desire to), and there are very few songs that I’d consider voting for over it. Pure Snow isn’t one of them. It’s a nicely-constructed pop song, but I don’t care for the vocals.

    I don’t love either Nanairo no Sora or All Alone With You, but All Alone With You’s vocals really annoy me. I think maybe the wobbling and wrong notes are on purpose? But it’s like nails on a chalkboard for me. So I went for Nanairo no Sora because it was at least inoffensive.

    God Only Knows is an extremely interesting song, but it feels like at least four different songs weirdly patched together, and not only do I not like all of those songs individually, I don’t think it comes together well as a whole. I really enjoy Pride ~Nageki no Tabi~, though, and while less adventurous, it is at least cohesive.

    Komm süsser Tod vs. Kon’ya wa Hurricane is tough. In the end, though, my irrational love for the Bubblegum Crisis soundtrack wins out. There’s plenty more Evangelion in this tournament, anyway.

  7. Two of my nominations made it into this bracket, and I actually ended up voting against one of them. It was a tough choice and I like Uninstall a lot (obviously, I nominated it), but I’m a sucker for soft pretty melodies like Pure Snow. It looks like I’ll have the chance to redeem myself in the next round. Though if I had my way it would be Little Bird and not Uninstall that would have made it in to the tourney.

    God Only Knows is quite the mix up of songs. I kept thinking I had clicked on the next song accidentally. I liked some of the segments but they didn’t really work as a whole.

  8. Pingback: Bracket Lina – Round 1 – Polls 5-8 | The Anime Music Tournament

Leave a Reply

