Bracket Guts – Round 1 – Polls 5-8

Note: Bracket F Polls 1-4 close in exactly 24 hours.


Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Higurashi no Naku Koro ni – Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

Track 2: Daicon IV – Prologue, Twilight



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha – Innocent Starter

Track 2: Mobile Suit Gundam Seed – Anna ni issho datta no ni



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Bakemonogatari – Renai Circulation

Track 2: Arakawa Under the Bridge – Akai Coat



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: 5 Centimeters Per Second – One More Time, One More Chance

Track 2: Soukyuu no Fafner – Shangri-La


14 thoughts on “Bracket Guts – Round 1 – Polls 5-8

  1. I have a feeling that maskerade’s pick is prologue/twilight for P5. Just a hunch.

    Sad that more 80’s genius has to go against higurashi. This ones really a hair-ripper for me

    • You would be right 😀 Twilight’s a genius song, and don’t get me wrong, I like Higarushi, but come on, it’s ELO!

      Other votes were:
      Nonoha (No particular reason, just felt it was less bombastic as the Seed one)
      Renai Circulation (Akai Coat was good when I heard it, but Renai was obsessive. I would hear it in my dreams)
      5cm (Shangrila just had too much happening at once compared to 5cm. Those beautiful chords and that voice. Totally carries the song and when the drums come in and the song moves into gear, I do feel a lil melancholic. It does get a little repetitive at the end, but it’s one of those songs that make you wanna find out what the hell he’s actually singing.)

  2. Just want to add a note on Nana Mizuki now that she’s in the game.

    Man, she’s got a ton of anime music tie-ins. But are they any good? For one reason or another I tend to not watch a lot of shows she’s in, so I’m not really exposed to a lot of her music outside a handful of shows. I think my favorite so far are her White Album tie-is. So good!

  3. Give me 70s (Out of the Blue) ELO any day over 80s ELO.

    Chiaki Ishikawa seriously are you kidding. Sorry Nana I like you but nah you ain’t competing See-Saw.

    I’m listening to Renai Circulation as I write this and I still love it. You know we throw around the term generic anime song a lot but we must agree Renai Circulation is really unique. Even without the super saccharine HanaKana vocals it’s still a catchy as hell song. The tuba, trumpets, claps, and barely noticeable disco guitar all add to its catchiness. Seriously listen to the instrumental version. But seriously that tuba. It’s like they took all the parts a boring 4 chord piano line would have and gave it to a tuba which somehow makes it amazing.

    The last poll is a wash for me. I like Angela’s vocals and the chorus of One More Time, One More Chance I have listened to a lot and is very familiar to me. But I don’t care either way.

    • I don’t *love* Renai Circulation per se, but I feel that given it’s premise (moe to the point of death) I think it’s brilliantly executed. I’m fairly certain it’ll win this bracket, since it’s fairly weak in comparison (higurashi in second).

  4. Higurashi no Naku Koro ni is a lot weaker than You. The various “hrumph” noises don’t help it either nor the bass guitar muddying the song in places. Twilight’s robotic voice at the start is bleh. The abrupt pitch change doesn’t work either nor all the various stuff that its throwing into the song. Neither are good but Higurashi edges out its opponent by keeping it simple in comparison

    Innocent Starter would be nicer if they took out the backing vocal being used piecemeal. Vocalist isn’t bad though the song starts to shine only when it kicks into second gear after a minute or so. Anna ni issho datta no ni’s vocalist really reminded me of someone and a google check confirmed it was Chiaki Ishikawa. The song has a great start and the medlogy is great but the song itself sounds repetitive due to over use of the “Anna Ni Issho Datta No Ni” parts. Innocent Starter takes this

    Renai Circulation shoots it own foot by trying to be cute, lengthy and not a singular style all at the same time. The rap portion and the syllable whispering breaks the attempt to be cute and the song is overly long leading to overexposure to the attempt to be cute. Akai Coat is pretty good even though it starts off simply until the bass guitar joins in and the vocalist is has it down. The shift to an echoing style isn’t abrupt but the second repeat during the part from 1:32 to 1:55 made that part draggy. One single set before going into the echo would be better IMO. Akai Coat has this one.

    One More Time, One More Chance announces it has no intention to be incredibly sophisticated or complex right from the start and that works for it because the vocalist is carrying the song and that was the intention all along. This is the sort of song you could go around singing with just an acoustic guitar and not lose much without the other instruments. Shangri-La is not bad actually, fast paced after a slow start and the instruments don’t clash but the vocalist is overdoing it in places. Going with One More Time, One More Chance for this one.

  5. Finally caught up again with all the brackets. For me:
    The Daicon IV song was one of those ‘first I was ???, then I was :D’ cases. Love the 80s sound.
    I couldn’t vote for Renai Circulation. I agree that it achieved its objective perfectly and I respect it as a song, but I just can’t quite bring myself to like it (despite the awesome tuba).
    One More Time, One More Chance has always been a frustrating song for me. It’s got a nice melody, but it never goes anywhere. Just wash, rinse and repeat. It’s ok and works better in the context of the film, but I gave my vote to the other song.

  6. Shangri-La is so obnoxious. Her wailing and endless vibrato sounds so overdone. Shame it looks like itll knock out One More Time, One More Chance. The last few rounds of polls have been brutal on some of my all-time favorites

  7. Pingback: The Anime Music Tournament 2013 Bracket Guts – Round 1 – Polls 1-8 “Analysis” | Drastic My Anime Blog

  8. Pingback: Bracket Ichijo – Round 1 – Polls 1-4 | The Anime Music Tournament

Leave a Reply

