Bracket Charlotte – Round 1 – Polls 5-8

Note: Bracket B Polls 1-4 close in exactly 24 hours.


Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann – Sorairo Days

Track 2: Cardcaptor Sakura – Catch You Catch Me



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru – Down Town

Track 2: Fantastic Children – Mizu no Madoromi



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Psycho-Pass – Namae no nai Kaibutsu

Track 2: Aria the Origination – Kin no Nami Sen no Nami



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Sora no Woto – Hikari no Senritsu

Track 2: Outlaw Star – Hiru no Tsuki


21 thoughts on “Bracket Charlotte – Round 1 – Polls 5-8

  1. The last poll (Sora no Woto vs. Outlaw Star) was really tough for me to decide on. Both are very laid back, melodious songs with wonderful vocals. Ultimately I chose Hiru no Tsuki because I love Akino Arai’s voice. But it was close.

    I’ve never seen Fantastic Children so Mizu no Madoromi was a very pleasant surprise. A beautiful song. I don’t expect it however to beat anything that’s maid heavy in the current anime climate.

  2. 1. Not overly bothered about either song. I guess I’ll pick ‘Catch You Catch Me’. Not really my cup of tea, but it doesn’t sound as emotionally hollow as ‘Sorairo Days’ does. There are far more deserving Gurren Lagann songs for my vote. Age before beauty.

    2. I’m both surprised and happy to see a nomination for Soredemo Machi in the tourney; it seems most people didn’t acknowledge its existence even while it was airing. Sadly, it isn’t enough to make me vote for ‘Down Town’. As much as I love Maaya Sakamoto, and genuinely enjoy the brass sections of the song, the whole 1970’s jazzy/proto-disco (I’m not sure of the correct genre description) doesn’t do a thing for me. Plus, the original Sugar Babe version is still far superior to the cover. I much prefer ‘Mizu no Madoromi’s’ easy listening, folk sound, and the vocals are fantastic! Now, to dust off my old Enya albums…

    3. Namae no nai Kaibutsu I guess. I do enjoy the sudden build ups in tempo throughout the song.

    4. Oh god, this is a real toughie; I’ll not escape this one without a sense of regret.

    I never particularly liked Outlaw Star much and didn’t pay much attention to the soundtrack at the time, so rediscovering ‘Hiru no Tsuki’ is a small joy for me. It is little one-note, but I guess that’s fairly appropriate for such a melancholy song.

    On the other hand I loved both of Sora no Woto’s OP and ED tracks, and while this doesn’t impress me as much as ‘Girls, Be Ambitious!’ it’s still deserving of a vote. ‘Hiru no Tsuki’ is pretty flat throughout, while the emotional build-up in Hikari no Senritsu always gets to me.

  3. Really hard week for me, I love sorairo days because of ttgl, and a biased vote would lead me to pick it, but i think objectively catch you catch me is a much better song, so I went with it instead. Libera me from hell will probably sate my need for a ttgl song to be in anyways. Down Town was an easy choice for me, really just everything I love, but mizu no madoromi is a fine song as well.

    This next poll hurts, but I have to vote against ARIA. Kin no Nami Sen no Nami was one of my least favorite ARIA songs, so it wasn’t to painful. Namae no nai Kaibutsu is simply the better song. Hikari no Senritsu was another easy choice for me, but again, the other song was pleasant. Quite honestly fine with any 8 of these songs advancing.

  4. My favorite version of Sorairo Days is still the 8bit Project chiptune remix.

    Origa vs. Maaya…Origa. Her voice is practically flawless. However Mizu no Madoromi sounds to me a bit like a low budget Kiseki no Umi; like they couldn’t afford the string section. Advantage: Down Town.

    I really hate that both Arai Akino songs are losing. I really really love her voice and the music she makes. I love how Kin no Nami, Sen no Nami builds throughout the song. When I listen to it I imagine a person awaking and beginning the day. It starts with the moments right before dawn. The first appearance of the chorus is the rising of the sun and we see the person (I imagine a girl despite having never seen Aria) awake. At first the verses sound like they come from haze of sleepiness but that fog quickly lifts. The girl goes about her morning routine until the 2nd chorus. The use of drums in the second chorus and throughout the remainder of the song demonstrates the determination and positivity with which one must approach the day. Finally the last repetition of the chorus is the girl stepping out of their door and setting off down the road while we look at her retreating back. It’s a song heralding the new day and all the joy and hope that comes with the rising of the sun. Egoist is nice but it inspires no such emotion in me.

    If this were Tsuki no Ie this would be a harder decision but with Hiru no Tsuki it is no competition. I’ve already spoken of how much I love Arai Akino. I have fond memories of watching Outlaw Star in the wee hours of the morning (long past the time I was allowed to be up) when it first aired on Adult Swim in 2002. I’d already seen the Toonami airing but if I remember correctly that always cut out OP and ED. Adult Swim was the first time I was able to hear Hiru no Tsuki and see the beautiful conceptual art that accompanied the EDs. It has mystery to it not unlike “Aimo” from Macross Frontier; perhaps speaking of a history long since past. Hiru no Tsuki is the ultimate ED song, the quiet, contemplative nature of the song encourages you to contemplate the episode you have just watched while keeping you interested in the next episode will bring. Hikari no Senritsu is a good song accompanying an even better OP animation, but the emotional connection I have (and tend to form) with Arai Akino songs is powerful indeed.

    • Love your adoration of the Arai Akino songs. I originally listened to both from a discography and its surprising how well they (and many other songs of hers) stick with me. Now that I learn the anime they were used in I get a faint nostalgic feeling listening to them again. Her voice lends itself perfectly to the slow, almost ethereal pieces she sings for.

      Also it’s funny you’ve never seen Aria. You just pretty much exactly described the emotions that show gives me.

  5. So happy to see Mizu no Madoromi winning (at least so far) since I helped it get into the tourney. It’s always been one of my favourites.

    The last poll was indeed tough, but I sided with the Outlaw Star song in the end.

    I’ve never been able to decide if I like Catch You, Catch Me or hate it. It straddles that border between cute and annoying so perfectly.

  6. Let me shed some tears for the ED of Aria the Origination. It won’t make it through this round but that is one of my favorite anime songs and one that I’d love to see go far in this tournament. The only positive is that it’s losing to a great song itself, although nowhere near Aria’s in terms of my preferences.

    Oh well.

  7. Man, I’m glad this might be the last tournament for this kind of stuff because I don’t want to be a part of any group that won’t advance either of these two Akino Arai songs. Even against these two pretty good entries.

    I mean, losing to Hikari no Senritsu? Makes me want to call a certain Kawaiikochans character.

    Actually losing to Supercell’s Nameless Monster is probably more indicative. Both are heavily vocal driven but the two songs are polar opposites.

      • Really? I think it’s more because of the style. I’m okay with Nameless Monster doing well because it’s easy to enjoy. But Hikari no Senritsu would probably not get nominated at all if it wasn’t from Kalafina.

    • I actually like Hikari no Senritsu more than the other high seeded Kalafina song from a certain not quite magical girl anime. That being said I still wanted Akino Arai to advance past both these and, like you, lost a little bit of faith in humanity and the competition. Sad to say I may be phoning it from here on out.

  8. Pingback: Bracket Ein – Round 1 – Polls 1-4 | The Anime Music Tournament

  9. Pingback: The Anime Music Tournament 2013 Bracket Charlotte – Round 1 – Polls 1-8 “Analysis” | Drastic My Anime Blog

Leave a Reply

