Bracket Alpha – Round 1 – Polls 1-4


Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Bakemonogatari – Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari

Track 2: Mawaru Penguindrum – ROCK OVER JAPAN



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Guilty Crown – The Everlasting Guilty Crown

Track 2: Bakemonogatari – staple stable



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Joshiraku – Nippon Egao Hyakkei

Track 2: Paradise Kiss – Lonely in Gorgeous



Vote for one of the following tracks:
Track 1: Eden of the East – futuristic imagination

Track 2: H2O; Footprints In The Sand – One Winged Icarus


44 thoughts on “Bracket Alpha – Round 1 – Polls 1-4

  1. Listened to all of them from start to finish to be fair. Just wanted to say that i have never heard of Egao Hyakkei or seen its anime but the music brings out a crazy and funny atmosphere. Made me smile. futuristic imagination was chaotic but interesting in its chaos

  2. I like all these songs. And other than the one high-value Sakakibara Yui track I probably listen to all of these repeatedly over the years.

    Somehow I just prefer Yui’s Phantasm stuff a lot more than Icarus. Or even her akibapop-style stuff over this.

    • Speaking as a Phantasm Phan I think Yui just sounds a lot better when singing as Phantasm. Like tone and stuff. Pity Toki Tsukasadoru is definitely going to be eliminated first round 😦

    • Yep, that looks to be the only match that’s not so straight forward. For me it’s an easy choice: one is a great pop song, and the other … is exceedingly annoying lol.

    • This makes no sense to me. The Joshiraku song was fun, but as far as I’m concerned, Lonely in Gorgeous is a strong contender for best anime tune of all time, and I’m not even a fan of ParaKiss. Of course, I don’t expect it to come close to winning this tourney, because democracy etc. I guess I’m just a hopeless fan of dance music. If the OP from Texhnolyze had made it in, I’d be pushing it till the end as well. Oh well…OPINIONS

  3. I’d nominated both Nippon Egao Hyakkei and Lonely in Gorgeous, fml. Still undecided at this point…

    And Katayoku no Icarus might rank very high among Sakakibara Yui songs in my mind, but I miss sfp so much that I just have to go for them. I’ll go and check out what la la larks have been up to lately to console myself. :<

  4. Even though I like the Everlasting Guilty Crown better and they were seeded fairly close, I think being tied to a….. less well received anime is going to make the match a bit lopsided towards Staple Staple.

    • FWIW, Staple Stable tied to a well-received anime also helps its chances.

      Everlasting Guilty Crown is simply a beast of a song though. Oh well.

      • This was actually the hardest choice for me. After listening to Everlasting Guilty Crown again I realized that it was really a good song (this had to be remembered because the anime left a bad taste in my mouth and thus I’ve forgotten most things about it). In the end, though, I went with Staple Stable. It’s certainly a pleasant song, but I acknowledge that I couldn’t entirely divorce it from the awesome OP animation in my mind, and that could have influenced my decision…

  5. Would it be possible to add the track number from the overall file to each voting thingie ? Makes it easier to make use of the big downloaded file to relisten to tracks before voting.

    • Does anyone else want this? People did mention that knowing the seeds might skew the results, but I’m not sure if that’ll actually happen. If more people clamor for this to make their lives easier, I’ll go ahead and make the change.

      • I think it’s more important to hide the seeding. There have been studies done showing that one’s subjective enjoyment of music is significantly impacted by the perceived popularity of that music. And since you’re streaming the tracks anyway, it’s not really necessary.

        • I’m also inclined to agree. I think prominently displaying the seed number will affect how people vote. Heck, I’m pretty sure it would affect how I vote on songs that I’m not familiar with. I’m pretty impressionable (even if I don’t mean to be).

        • But if you were looking at the initial vote counts…it’s already ruined!

          The seeding also generates the underdog effect.

  6. This is what I voted:
    Bakemonogatari – Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari
    Bakemonogatari – staple stable
    Paradise Kiss – Lonely in Gorgeous
    H2O; Footprints In The Sand – One Winged Icarus
    I didn’t know Icarus before listening to the songs but I liked it so much. I was surprised at the polls result. It will be sad to see it go but that’s already one song that I’ll be getting. I thank this tourney for letting me discover it.

  7. I ended up choosing ‘Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari’ over ‘Rock over Japan’. Love them both, but the former just edges out the competition. Plus, I think there are much better songs on the Triple H album.

    Voting for ‘The Everlasting Guilty Crown’ was a slightly more bitter experience, but ‘Stable Stable’ just doesn’t really resonate with me, divorced from the OP’s visuals. It’s pleasant, but little more. I enjoy how overblown the Guilty Crown track, even it comes across as forced as the show in question.

    ‘Nippon Egao Hyakkei’ vs ‘Lonely in Gorgeous’ was the only really hard choice to make. I personally enjoy listening to the former far more often, but I can’t help but feel it’s something of a novelty/trifle. Although I’m not the biggest fan of 80’s synth themed music, ‘Lonely’ come across a far more accomplished track, feeling both more complete and a work of actual passion, rather than an excuse to add sounds to an OP. Guess that colours my choice.

    • Your reasoning for Nippon Egao Hyakkei was pretty much the same reasoning I used. I thought: Which one of these would I be able to stand listening to 50 times in a row if I had to? I’m fairly certain I would be screaming the lyrics of “Nippon Egao Hyakkei” at the speakers by the end whereas at least I can dance? to Lonely in Gorgeous.

      Of course i put Nippon Egao Hyakkei going through on my omobracket so wooops.

      • As someone who has listened to both songs repeatedly, both on repeat and just in general, it’s kind of complicated. I think there is a reason why Tommy’s sound was so hot in the late 90s early 00s, and Lonely in Gorgeous basically is a synth-y take on a standard Buriguri rock formula. It’s top 40 sort of music. OTOH Nippon Egao Hakkei has…Yoshida Brothers. And MomoClo brings their A-game to this song in terms of infectious energy and acting. You’re both right that in the end Nippon Egao Hakkei will get you tired/insane because it’s a much more involved experience, and I think that counts a lot in anison terms.

  8. Pingback: The Anime Music Tournament 2013 Bracket Alpha Polls 1-4 “Analysis” | Drastic My Anime Blog

  9. I don’t know why, but I feel like I’m the only person who thinks Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari is only ok. I agree that there is better stuff from the Triple H album, in regards to Rock Over Japan, but Monogatari never really left any sort of impression on me. It’s even weirder when I look at the predictions and see most folks betting on it at least making it to the top 4.

    • Me too, actually. I never thought it was anything special. I had a vague sense that it was popular, but I didn’t realize how much until now. For me, Rock Over Japan was an easy choice.

      • Me too. I thought Rock Over Japan is just a big joke and the value comes from the fact that three newbie voice actresses for an otaku anime is covering an 80s rock song that only people who enjoys 80s music would like. That, and people smitten with Penguindrum.

        • Maybe so. I do adore Penguindrum, and I am aware that I seem to prefer 80s popular music compared to newer stuff. As noted above, I think Lonely in Gorgeous is easily one of the best anison ever, and it’s definitely inspired by 80s synth-pop. Guess I’m in the minority on the 80s thing.

          But yeah, it’s not just that I think Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari is only slightly better than forgettable, but I do genuinely love Rock Over Japan.

        • For you guys, definitely check out ARB’s rendition of their own songs. That was kind of what ruined most of Penguindrum’s cover for me. They’re just so much better.

        • I have heard the original songs before. Personally, I’d rather just listen to a not-as-good (but still pretty rad) cover of them over a song that I think is, as foon put it, only slightly better than forgettable.

  10. I personally enjoy it greatly but I also think it doesn’t have much competition until much later in the brackets. I guess we all had trouble deciding on joshiraku v. paradise kiss! either one going through would be fine. I looked at my bracket and I actually put the one I didn’t vote for through, so that says how flipfloppy I feel about it…Really tough! Both pretty good for really different reasons. As someone who listens to Bemani music on the regular I don’t think I’d have a problem listening to nippon egao hyakkei 50+ times :v

  11. Thanks to this tournament, ended up watching Joshiraku. I have to say the ED animation is incredibly cute and goes well with the song

  12. Bakemonogatari – Mawaru Penguindrum
    Guilty Crown – Bakemonogatari (Everlasting may be good, but I’ve always loved Staple Staple)
    Joshiraku – Paradise Kiss
    Eden of the East – H20 (if it had been the H20 ending, however…)

  13. My votes (thanks for the template Marow. 😛 ) :
    Bakemonogatari – Mawaru Penguindrum
    Guilty Crown – Bakemonogatari
    Joshiraku – Paradise Kiss
    Eden of the East – H20 (both are kinda meh, but I liked H20 a tad bit more.)

  14. Pingback: Bracket Bobobo-bo Bo-bobo – Round 1 – Polls 5-8 | The Anime Music Tournament

Leave a Reply

